Resolution honoring Iowa’s Megan Gustafson introduced in Iowa Senate

Iowa senators hope to honor Iowa women’s basketball player Megan Gustafson for her ‘outstanding’ career on and off the court.


David Harmantas

Iowa forward Megan Gustafson smiles as she walks off the court after a basketball game against Michigan State on Thursday, Feb. 7, 2019. The Hawkeyes defeated the Spartans 86-71.

Marissa Payne, Managing Editor

State senators introduced a resolution on Wednesday in the Legislature to honor Iowa women’s basketball player Megan Gustafson “for her outstanding academic and college basketball career at the University of Iowa.”

Sens. Zach Wahls, D-Coralville, Joe Bolkcom, D-Iowa City, and Chris Cournoyer, R-Le Claire, introduced the resolution, Senate Resolution 14, to honor Gustafson, recently unanimously named the 2018-19 ESPNW college basketball 2018-19 season Player of the Year.

The resolution notes that Gustafson “emerged early in her basketball career” when she was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team in the 2015-16 season.

Gustafson cemented her place in Iowa hoops history “by being named first-team all-Big Ten by conference coaches and media during her sophomore, junior, and senior seasons while twice being named Big Ten Player of the Year,” the resolution says.

Gustafson’s senior season broke records as the all-time leading scorer in Iowa basketball history and being honored as the Big Ten Player of the Week 12 times.

The resolution highlights Gustafson’s senior-season accomplishments in “leading the country in scoring per game, total points, and field-goal percentage,” topped with leading Iowa women’s hoops to the Big Ten Tournament championship victory and being part of the team’s third-straight NCAA Tournament appearance.

Her Iowa hoops career will end with several honors. She was named a finalist for the 2019 Leslie Award, given by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, as well as the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association’s Wade Trophy, the John Wooden Award, the Naismith Trophy, and the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year Award.

The Senate resolution recognizes and congratulates Gustafson “for her outstanding career at the University of Iowa.”