UISG election results announced


Ben Smith/contributed

Jacob Simpson will become the new University of Iowa Student Government president and Lilián Sánchez the new vice president, as fully expected, in the UISG election results that officials announced on April 14 in the IMU Hubbard Commons.

The two had run unopposed on the Bridge UI ticket with 34 senatorial candidates.

Simpson and Sánchez’s platform addressed campus environment, sustainability, education, affordability, student organizations, health and safety, and leadership and engagement.

Thirty-eight students won Senate seats for the 2017-18 academic year.

Four independents won among the 38: Joe Reed, Jenna Pokorny, Cameron Cooper, and Angel Alicea.

Voting took place on April 12 and 13.

Read a full story about what the new UISG administration plans to do on April 17.




Facebook Comments