Rettig, Heiden win primary for Johnson County supervisors


Joseph Cress

Supervisors Mike Carberry, Kurt Friese, Janelle Rettig, and Lisa Green-Douglass listen to public comment during a Johnson County Board of Supervisors meeting on Monday, Oct. 9, 2017.

Emily Wangen, Politics Reporter

Johnson County Board of Supervisors Chair Mike Carberry will not get a seat on the board after being defeated in the June 5 primary by Janelle Rettig and Pat Heiden.

Rettig led the race, capturing 63 percent of the vote — 10,820 votes — Heiden followed with 53 percent, 9,116 votes, and Carberry trailed at 40 percent, 6,927 votes.

The three candidates ran for the two supervisor spots available. There were no Republican candidates in the primary, so Heiden and Rettig will probably remain unopposed in the November election.

Carberry apologized in early May for a 2010 incident in which he made lewd comments to a coworker while working for the Iowa Renewable Energy Association. The incident resulted in the elimination of his executive-director position and prompted his resignation from the organization.