Seven head to Hawkeye Hall of Fame

The Iowa Varsity Club Hall of Fame names seven former Hawkeyes to the class of 2018.


Iowa offensive lineman Robert Gallery follows a runner during the Iowa-Maimi Ohio game at Kinnick Stadium on Nov. 14, 1999. Gallery was drafted 2nd over-all to the Radiers in 2004. (The Daily Iowan/File Photo)

By Jordan Zuniga

[email protected]

Tuesday morning, the Iowa Athletics Department and the National Iowa Varsity Club named seven new members to the Iowa Varsity Club Hall of Fame.

The 29th Hall of Fame class:

Toni (Neykova) Bickford, women’s tennis

Toni Bickford was the first Hawkeye singles player in program history to make it to the NCAA Championships as well as a member of the first doubles pair to make it to the championships.

Bickford started off strong during her first year, winning the 1999 Big Ten Freshman of the Year while earning first team All-Big Ten honors in 1999-2002.

Kris (Fillat) Buchanan, field hockey

Kris Buchanan is a two-time first team All-American (1990, ’92) who led the Hawkeyes to three final fours and a regular-season

conference championship.

She was also part of the U.S. Olympic team in 1996 and competed for three U.S. World Cup teams.

Buchanan topped things off competing for the U.S. National team until 1999.

Tom Dunn, men’s gymnastics head coach

Once dubbed the “Dean” of Hawkeye coaches, Tom Dunn coached Iowa men’s gymnastics for 29 years.

In those years, Dunn led the Hawkeyes to two Big Ten titles, five individual NCAA titles, and 35 Big Ten individual tiles, and gymnasts earned 67 All-America honors. He was named Big Ten Coach of the Year three times (1997, ’98, 2006).

Robert Gallery, football

Hawkeye offensive lineman Robert Gallery was a two-time first-team All-Big Ten honoree and won the Outland Trophy.

In 2003, he was named a consensus All-American before he was drafted second by the Oakland Raiders in the NFL Draft.

Marty Kistler, wrestling

Kistler dominated college wrestling during his Hawkeye career.

He won back-to-back individual NCAA titles in 1985 and 1986, while also leading Iowa to four national titles. Capping things off, he was an All-American and the individual Big Ten champion from 1984-86.

Barb (Willis) Randall, volleyball

Iowa’s Volleyball Player of the Decade for the 1990s, Barb Randall, is the Hawkeye’s all-time leader in blocks and ranks in the program’s top 10 for career kills, digs, and attack percentage.

The two-time first team All-Big Ten player competed with the U.S. National Team from 1991-93 and played in the 1991 World University Games and the 1991 Pan American Games.

Andre Woolridge, men’s basketball

Iowa’s all-time assist leader, Andre Woolridge won first-team All-Big Ten and third-team All-American honors in 1997.

That year he made history as the first player in history to lead the Big Ten in scoring and assists. He was an essential part in Iowa’s lineup, leading the team to NCAA Tournament appearances in 1996 and 1997.

The induction ceremony is set to take place Sept. 1 at 6:30 p.m. in the Grand Coral Ballroom of the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Convention Center.

Facebook Comments