Daily Iowan takes home awards


The Daily Iowan received several awards in recognition at the Iowa Newspaper Association awards banquet on Friday, Feb. 3. Of placing in 14 categories, the DI took home nine first-place awards.

The DI is in category Daily Class 1 and competed against other professional newspapers in the state with a circulation of 9,999 and under.
The completion was based on submissions from October 2015-October 2016.

Among others, highlights include: 1st place for coverage of government and politics, best newspaper website, best sports feature, and second place for general excellence.

All of this year’s awards are listed below.


1st place awards:

Coverage of Government and Politics
Best Newspaper Website
Best Feature Page
Best Sports Feature (Courtney Baumann)
Best Series (Tessa Solomon & Mary Mathis)
Master Columnist (Vivian Medithi)
Best News Photo (Sergio Flores)
Best Photo Story (Jordan Gale)
Best News Feature Photo (Margaret Kispert)

2nd place awards:

General Excellence
Best Front Page
Best Sports Section

3rd place awards:

Best News Photo (Brooklyn Kascel)




Facebook Comments